Topend Sports Logo

Rugby World Cup Hosts

The inaugural Rugby World Cup was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand. The next tournament in 1991 was also co-hosted. Click on the year in the table below to show more details of each event. The current event is being held in France.

Event Year Country
12 2031 USA
11 2027 Australia
10 2023 France
9 2019 Japan
8 2015 England
7 2011 New Zealand
6 2007 France
5 2003 Australia
4 1999 Wales
3 1995 South Africa
2 1991 UK and France
1 1987 Australia and New Zealand

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Rugby World Cup Extra

The next men's Rugby World Cup will be played in France in 2023. See the list of winners, and more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup. There is also a Women's World Cup.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite