Topend Sports Logo

Women's World Cup

Women's Rugby is very popular in many of the rugby playing countries around the world. The first Women's Rugby World Cup was held in 1991, and it has been held every four years since.

A women's rugby game women's rugby game

The tournaments in 1991 and 1994 were not officially sanctioned by the IRB - it was not until the 1998 tournament that it received official IRB backing. After being runner's up for three years running, England triumphed in 2014 for their second Championships.

New Zealand won the 2017 World Cup, their 5th title. The next tournament was planned to be held in 2021 in New Zealand, the first time the event as ever been held in the southern hemisphere. The event was postponed until 2022 due to the ongoing pandemic.

The format of the world cupchanged for the 2022 World Cup, with classification matches replaced with quarter finals. Host nation New Zealand defeated England again in the final in 2022. New Zealand has now won 6 of the 9 tournaments so far.


Year Winner Runner Up Score Host
2033       USA
2029       Australia
2025       England
2022 New Zealand England 34–31 New Zealand
2017 New Zealand England 41-32 Ireland
2014 England Canada 21-9 France
2010 New Zealand England 13-10 England
2006 New Zealand England 25-17 Canada
2002 New Zealand England 19-9 Spain
1998 New Zealand USA 44-12 Netherlands
1994 England USA 38-23 Scotland
1991 USA England 19-16 Wales

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Rugby World Cup Extra

The next men's Rugby World Cup will be played in France in 2023. See the list of winners, and more firsts and other trivia, and also information about each country at the World Cup. There is also a Women's World Cup.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite